Medical Faculty

Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


League of European Research Universities (LERU)

About LERU

The League of European Research Universities (LERU) represents the interests of high-research Universities in Europe. LERU was founded in 2002 as a coalition of twelve universities. Eight new members were added in 2006. The aim of LERU is to actively shape the European university and research landscape. One of the main requirements is, among other things, the provision of substantial financial resources for the development of basic research.


LERU is committed to education in the awareness of the limits of human understanding. The creation of new knowledge through basic research as the ultimate source of innovation in society and the promotion of broad-based research in partnership with industry and society as a whole is the aim of the league.
In addition to the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, the following Universities are Partners in LERU:

  • University of Amsterdam
  • University of Barcelona
  • University of Cambridge
  • Universität Copenhagen
  • Trinity College Dublin
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Freiburg
  • University of Geneva
  • University of Heidelberg
  • University of Helsinki
  • University of Leiden
  • KU Leuven
  • Imperial College London
  • University College London
  • Lund University
  • University of Mailand
  • University of Oxford
  • Sorbonne
  • University Paris South
  • University of Strasbourg
  • Utrecht University
  • University of Zurich

Focus Groups

The Activities within LERUs are divided into Policy and Thematic Groups. Examples with a medical theme:

  • The Biomedicine and Life Sciences Groupbrings together experts in human and veterinary medicine from across LERU. The group meets twice a year to develop high level policy recommendations and exchanges information on best practices. The group currently focuses its activities on medical and veterinary education (including clinical and intraprofessional education, exchange programmes and teacher training), medical data management and regulatory issues.
  • The Natural Sciences Policy Groupcovers disciplines as broad as biology, chemistry, computing, mathematics, geology and physics. The group meets twice a year to develop high level policy recommendations and to exchange information on best practices. The group currently focuses its activities on the broad themes of capacity building (STEM teacher training and research infrastructures), ‘Responsible Science’ (sustainable universities, integrity of research processes and inclusiveness of employees) and regulatory developments including those covering genetic resources and international biodiversity agreements.
  • The Policy Group of European Research Project Managers follows all developments, both policy and practical, related to the European Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (FP7, Horizon 2020, FP9). They analyse the FP’s funding schemes, trends and rules, develop LERU positions, also on future FPs, and discuss these with EU policy makers or publish their views in papers, notes and statements. A major focus of the ERPM policy group’s work has been on simplification of the framework programme, and on the European Research Council and Marie-SkÅ‚odowska Curie Actions.

Quelle: LERU